A Legend Gone

The decay and disintegration of this culture is astonishingly amusing if you’re emotionally detached from it, and I’ve always viewed it from a safe distance, knowing I don’t belong. Doesn’t include me; it never has. No matter how you care to define it, I do not identify with the local group, planet, species, race, nation, state, religion, party, union, club, association, neighborhood improvement commitee. I have no interest in any of it. I love and treasure individuals as I meet them; I loathe and despise the groups they identify with and belong to. My interest in issues is merely to point out how badly we’re doing, not to suggest a way we might do better. Don’t confuse me with those who cling to hope; I enjoy describing how things are. I have no interest in how they ought to be, and I certainly have no interest in fixing them. I sincerely believe that if you think there’s a solution, you’re part of the problem. My motto: Fuck Hope!” — George Carlin, 1937-2008

Leave a Reply

